Weekly progress from a begginer

Hello,
glad to meet everyone. I am studying real time VFX in Unreal right now.
My goal is to get into the video game industry.
Time constraint 6 months from now.
In that time: learn basic concepts, make my demo reel, show my progress and network.

The reason I am learning VFX it’s because it seems to be more in demand.

I tried Environment concept art but I ended up burning out. VFX seems to give me a fresh start and continue with other artistic abilities that I put aside. Also, I’m trying to avoid some mistakes such as not showing my progress, network or searching for a community. Having actual professionals reading my questions and taking the time to answer is a game changer for me.

That being said, I officially started on May 7th but I was finishing other projects.

I did the “Unreal Engine - VFX for Games - Beginner to Intermediate” by Gabriel Agilar

And I am currently in " Complete VFX Niagara in Unreal Engine 5" by Raffi Bedross
At the same watching the series of Ben Cloward called “UE4 Material Editor - Shader Creation” (Until vid 6)

I’ve checked a nice amount of junior portfolios in order to have a visual idea of what level I should achieve in order to get a job.

For this month my goal is to see what it’s possible to do. Like learning how the ingredients’ flavor interacts with each other and making some smaller decisions.

My way of learning is to have first contact. In other words, see as much as I can and then it’s when I start brushing off again. I believe that making small projects and finishing them off would help me a lot to recall what I learned until it’s in the back of my mind.

So far I’m just copying and adding some extra things as I said

Seems that materials are a very powerful tool. It feels more useful to learn about that instead of going back and forth on 3D software.

For this week I’ve checked in total:

“UE4 Material Editor - Shader Creation” Vids: 3 to 5