VFX Portfolio WIP

Hello people!
My name is Ferran and I’m from Barcelona. I’ve been checking this website for a while now, but this is my first post actually!

About 4 months ago I started practicing realtime VFX and then I took the VFX for Games Course with Fabio Silva (I finished a week ago and I really recommend it).

So I’d like to share my progress on some environment effects I’m doing and I’d love to receive feedback from you if that’s ok, since I’ve seen most of you are really really talented.

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/oOJaAJ

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/8lBk8G

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/58e4AJ

Thanks!! And nice to meet you!

-Ferran.

4 Likes

Hi everyone! Happy new year!
During this hollydays I’ve done some God of War inspired vfx.
It would be nice if I could get some feedback from you :slight_smile: I feel I have a lot to improve!
Thanks a lot!

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/oOJaAJ

1 Like

So reading this post form @chris (On Asking for Feedback) made me realise at least I should be more specific to the people willing to give me some feedback :stuck_out_tongue:

So, my intention is to make realistic-rendered effects that could be applied to triple-A Console/PC games from companies like Dice, Santa Monica, Sucker Punch… you know what I’m talking about. I haven’t worked in the game industry, but I’m preparing a portfolio to apply to junior positions.

In the first video my biggest concerns are:

1. Are the base and the top of the fire shader too different? I think it looks fine in motion, but a bit weird when pause??
  2. The black smoke column from the tank fire maybe dies a bit too abrupt? I’m happy with the movement and color, though.
  3. Does the debris in the sandstorm move too slowly? Are there too many particles floating around?

In the second video:

1. Does the mist of the chest fall and die in a proper speed and movement? I’m going back and forth :confused: