Particle moving along the mesh

Hi, community. I have some question/problem with one thing.
How to make in cascade ue4 or with some plugins or maybe anything else, particles moving along the mesh?

For example - we have human body mesh and some bugs or spiders moving along it.

Thanks!

Hey,

I am not a Unreal expert but similar question was discussed some days back.

hopefully it helps.

It is only spawn, but I’m interested in moving around surface

I don’t think I have any answers to your original questions, but I have some ideas on workarounds to get a similar result:

You can spawn particles off a mesh’s faces if it’s a skeletal mesh, but to my knowledge I don’t think you can do this with a static mesh at this time. As for bugs crawling across your character, you could set up some flow maps for the character UVs and pan different insect textures along it in your material.

Popcorn FX has a really cool example asset doing exactly what you are after. Popcorn FX support Unreal Engine as a plugin.

The PopcornFX example is a static mesh, not sure about skinned or deforming meshes

Starting 55 seconds in

You can download the Popcorn FX editor for free and check the example in there

1 Like

this should be possible but it might be expensive and a little tricky and time consuming to set up.

firstly in your construction script you can access the vert positions of your static mesh (How to get vertex X/Y/Z from Static Mesh via Blueprint? - Rendering - Unreal Engine Forums)

then you can pass the blueprint a set of vert numbers and get it to create a spline component from those verts

then you can just animate a mesh along a random spline to get the effect you’re after.

you might get some strange movement if you have a very low poly mesh but i dont think you could start to curve things without the animated mesh losing contact with the source mesh at some points.