Branxord's Sketchbook - My transition journey to UE4

(video with better quality of this gif :arrow_up: https://youtu.be/ObZquzT8B-4)

Hello there :boar:

So i just want to make a sketchbook of my progress with UE4 and i’ll try to update my daily progress of whatever i’m up to!

I’ve been using Unity for 2 years mostly for programming, not knowing really what i wanted to do, until i saw Jason’s GDC talk about vfx earlier this year and he opened my eyes to this world!
So now i’m kinda transitioning between Unity and UE4, i don’t have an artistic background (neither 3D modelling nor 2D art) so wanting to become a vfx artist is quite the challenge for me, but i’ll get there!

I’m hungry for knowledge.

Feedback is more than welcome :star2:

First particle system made: (bare in mind i had 2 and a half days to learn all i could about Unreal, for a job, and to come up with something, so this was quite the challenge for me)

And:

2 Likes

i learned how to make sockets in the skeleton, and how to add Notifiy and Notify States for the trails and particle systems.

So, first up is the first trail i made: (various color tests)

1 Like

Edited the shader (thanks discord, very cool), so it now has a better fade off at the tail of the effect, and a bright, thin line at the edge of the sword.

Shader: (maybe not the best right now but it reached that “works and i like it” point)
TrailBase

Difference:
diferencia

Result! :boar:

Also at the end of the day i added some particles:

2 Likes

It’s 11 pm here (monday, 4th of June), tomorrow it’s gonna be a week since i started learning UE4!

But more about today’s progress :boar: