Want to create awesome portfolio for my effects - What to do?

Hello people, My name is Minal, studying masters in game development and interested to become vfx artist in future. I want to know what will be best portfolio structure for showcasing effects like shield, magic circles, power-ups, etc. Please help me since I am pretty novice in this area and just started to make few effects.

1 Like

Hey broskie!

The way I showcased my FX are through the projects I worked on in college and some personal work. It worked pretty well in getting me a job :slight_smile: here is my website as an example or refrence to help you ^u^ https://www.raed2art.com/

Since you said your novice(so am I :smiley: ) , send me a message and I’m always willing to help out ^u^ and give you tutorials and ways to create fx and make them look awesome ^u^ !

Also I graduated December 2016 and am currently working at hi-rez studios as an FX artist :smiley:

I do hope you have a great time! and keep going after ur passion :smiley: it will drive you to be an awesome FX artist :smiley: ^u^ take care broskie!

1 Like

Hey Minal, glad to have you!! I’m not positive there is a “best” way, but there are a few options for showcasing FX.

There was a discussion on the facebook page asking a similar question, and @Agilethief posted his portfolio which has a very nice, clean layout: https://agilethief.artstation.com/

There is always trusty youtube to post a video of a collection of your FX. DeviantArt, Pintrest, any art hosting site that floats your boat. I highly encourage creating a dev blog here to showcase your growth :smile:

2 Likes

Thank you for quick reply. Yeah as you said I have done work on college projects and I am going to include that in portfolio. Thanks for giving me reference, I know hi-rez studios and met some great people in GDC’17 with cool advice. I would definitely like to know ways to create fx and make them look awesome!! :grin:

1 Like