UE4- How to create "shell" around mesh, similar to Halo Energy Shielding effect

Hi, I’m trying to figure out how to dynamically create a shell around a mesh, similar to the energy shielding effects from Halo. For reference:
Halo Energy Shield Image
Another Halo Shield Image

I understand how to create the energy shield shader (displace vertices along normals, use fresnel and depth for alpha, scrolling textures, etc.). But, in UE4, is there a way to dynamically create a shell around an arbitrary actor? Here are some options I can think of, but I’m not quite sure if they are possible. I’m very new to UE4.

I could:

• Use blueprint to spawn a second mesh, slave it to the first, and apply the energy shield material to the second mesh. I’m pretty sure I can pull this off, but it may be expensive. Would I have to keep the second mesh loaded at all times, or could I create and destroy it as needed at run time?
  • Dynamically create a new material that inherits the features of the old one, but also does some kind of second pass to render the shield using the same model. This sounds like the best method, if it will work in UE4.
  • Some sort of post process effect (I haven’t started digging into post process FX in UE4 yet).

Can any of you UE4 experts recommend the best way to approach this?

Thank you!
Brian

PS- I do have one shader question. Is there any way to prevent cracking along hard edges when you do vertex displacement?

While UDK, this still works in ue4 (just have to flip the material editor vertically) and is a good starting point:

(yes, thats done by the amazing Hourences)

It will go over a hit-effect on the enemy that could be re-purposed for a shield effect.

Its one of many different approaches, and in my case… the one I would probably pick unless there really needs to be a volumetric thing around the thing-to-be-shielded.

1 Like