Stylised Explosive and Fiery Hit-spark, looking for feedback

Here is the 2nd of the 2 hit-sparks that I have been working on for the past 2 months, this one has an explosion with explosive pillars coming out at the sides. I’m proud of this one, but I also want this to be the best it can be, any feedback would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

explosspark1

Here is a video of the hitspark in action, and also shows it in slow motion too: https://youtu.be/GaSWZ3WkrTY

2 Likes

This is overall looking really awesome!

It’s got some fantastic punchy timing to it, giving it some real satisfaction! I really like how you have the white flash, into the black flash, into the ramp down timing of the rest of the elements, it’s giving it great depth to the timing. I also like how you have different directions in the motion, with the cross pieces shooting straight out, it feels really cool.

I do think you could fade out the ending a little more, with the middle part fading to black and fading out in opacity, at the moment it kind of clips off at the end.

You also have a nice range of hues in there, from white through yellow to orange and red, which is giving a lot of depth to your colours as well.

The main way that I think this piece could be improved would be through the shapes. Right now overall the shapes are feeling a little noisy, with a high frequency of detail over all of the effect. The other ring that spins out at the end particularly has a lot of noisy shapes in it, and the high contrast between the black and white parts of that element mean you see the shapes very clearly.

I think if you reduced the frequency of the detail in one of the elements, or changed it so that one of them only showed a narrower value range (e.g. changing the outer ring so it was only orange/red, instead of the full range of white thru orange to black) it would help to define what are you primary and secondary elements of this effect.