Shr1mpsy: Sketch #17 River

That’s it, this is my final update :smiley:

river_shr1mpsy_final1

river_shr1mpsy_final2e

I spend the whole day tweaking around everything. I wish I had more time left. Note for me: start earlier next time xD

It was fun making the water shader and also very challenging figuring out how to make some falling leaves.
I hope you like it. :slight_smile: :fallen_leaf:

Hey everyone!

I’m following this forum for a while now and I’m exited to write my first post. I’ve just started recently with VFX and I thought it would a be a good practice to participate at this river challenge. So, here is my first WIP.

river_shr1mpsy5

Also I’m very new in building a small river shader in UE4. Any feedback would be super appreciated. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Very cool.! I learned, still learn a lot from challenges, so nice move there! FOr a first post, nice work ;).
If i were doing this, I’d probably do the following
-Think about the speed this thing is going at. Because right now the speed of the distortion belies how much surface distortion (foam and other stuff) that would really be going on. IMO.
-I’d probably gather some reference also.
-I’d try to figure out a way to have the mesh generate a “splash” mesh, or some kind of foam when it intersects with another mesh.
-I’d also try to give this river some depth. Right now I cant really tell the scale of this river, because the light seems to be hitting everythign equally.
-I’d also create a mood board and gather rference for a visual target on what I twant this river to look like. Not what I THINK a river looks like, know what i’m sayin?

I dont know how to solve these issues haha, so i cant help you there, but those are the things I’d consider.

1 Like

Wow, these are so incredibly tips! Thanks for your feedback! :slight_smile:
I have a questions to what you said: what you mean with “splash mesh”?

I thought of making making a small river, more like a slow stream. I’ll post some updates this week.