James Broderick: Embergen Challenge

Hi everyone! Been lurking on here for a while and been on the discord channel a little bit. I’m a relatively new VFX artist to the industry so I’m looking to push my skills a little and this seems like a great opportunity to test things out. I’ll see how much time I can put in, but I’m using this as a way to learn Niagara in UE4 as well as Embergen.

The general idea atm is I wanna blow up some podracer-style speeder things and watch the raining debris and engines pieces pepper the desert landscape underneath. Loads of fire, loads of sand kickup, and I can experiment with some jet engine flames. :’)

Newest pic: A storyboard for how I imagine the effect to play out

1 Like

Making a start on some planning and reference gathering. Started a little youtube playlist here where I’m adding video reference. The main point of inspiration is basically the pod-racing sequence from Phantom Menace (especially the part where Sebulba’s pod flies out of control and he gets all sad)

>>>Youtube Playlist - SandDune FX Ref<<<

Also pasting in a little bit of planning I’ve been doing in OneNote, nothing fancy yet and this outline will definitely shift around a bit, going to move onto doing some storyboard doodling now. :slight_smile:

Aims:

• Learn Embergen flipbook creation pipeline for UE4
• Get to grips with using Niagara for production FX
• Create something that feels a bit more cinematic - block in the animations in sequencer and then iterate on the FX.

Main FX to consider

• Jet engine fire and trails from bike
	○ Jet engine fire that that shifts colour and intensity a bit 
	○ Inside of jet engine has material with distortion and lightbanding - proper sci fi look
	○ Add sparks, make the burn seem quite inefficient and chaotic like it's an old engine made out of scrap. 
• Sand kickup from back of speeder bike
	○ Loads of sand kickup from back of speeder - like a dirt bike on dunes
• Explosion