Generated or personally coded shaders?

Hello, I am a traditional programmer beginning to delve into the world of VFX and I was curious if hand writing shaders would give me a stronger portfolio than someone who used a shader generator like shader forge? What are your opinions? Thanks so much in advanced for your inputs!

1 Like

Hey Sewellza9

I came from the opposite direction, Nodes and picked up writing shaders after.

In most cases a VFX artist won’t need to know how to write shaders but certainly having an understanding of them will go a long way.
That said, node editors often only allow you to do mostly conventional things, where as writing your own shader may allow you to craft some unique effects thus giving a stronger portfolio.

I would suggest be familiar with both.

1 Like

@Agilethief thanks for the reply! Being so new to vfx work, rather than just writing some simple unity shaders for materials, it’s great to hear from people who came from the opposite side of the track than I so that I can learn the common practices.

1 Like

shader forge is the high level visual tool for artists/tech art, not so much low-level technicians; of course tech art is hybrid & you’d really want to do both.

[quote=“Sewellza9, post:1, topic:1799”]
traditional programmer
[/quote]afaik code is key; for real time you craft the simplest lines to lower instruction count and memory.

pick your strength — IMO if you can be a rendering engineer you are in desperate demand within emergent mobile/VR

1 Like