What VFX are best for protoyping?

Hi, I’m a novice programmer/3D modeller.

I’ve often followed the advice that you should prototype your game design as quickly as possible. No nice art, nothing that distracts from making the minimum viable product to test whether or not your idea is fun. Then if the game isn’t fun, stop and try something else.
Not a single prototype I have ever made has been fun.
I think my problem is that my prototypes need more than just the basic programming and some primitive shapes. I think in order to be fun, prototypes may need to have a good feel. That means (I think) being able to communicate clear, satisfying responses to player input and player action. That means art.

Here is, to my best understanding, how to make an interaction feel satisfying:

• The player gives an input.
  • The game communicates that it received that input
  • The game communicates the success or failure or just the outcome of that action
  • All this should reinforce the artistic themes/gestalt of the game

There’s a lot of great material for beginners on these forums about projectiles and explosions, but I suspect that subtler things like animated UI or little dust clouds around running feet are more important here. I’m just a beginner with vfx and much of the subtler stuff is still things that I feel, but don’t see or notice.

In keeping with the advice to rapidly prototype, I should be spending as little time as possible creating or adapting vfx. To put it another way, I need to know what kind of vfx are necessary. If I complete the coding and vfx for a prototype and find that it isn’t fun, I need to have confidence that I have done it justice and can let it go. It would be a shame if some small tweak to the timing of an effect would have validated all my abandoned work.

So in order of importance, my questions are: