UE4 - Weapon slash: Meshes vs AnimTrail Data

Hi!

I’m new to vfx and I’m trying to learn how to do trails (sword, shield, etc). I’ve seen people do it with meshes (with a texture and some rotation and scale). Others do it with the AnimTrail Data, in unreal, or line renderer in Unity. Could someone tell me which is the difference? Which is better? Maybe it depends on the situation?

Examples:

In my case I have a 3 combo attack, where the weapon is a shield. The movement is not “horizontal” or “vertical” so I choosed AnimTrailData. This is what I have achieved.

ShieldSlash
Does someone knows why it appears “cut”, like it’s missing more segments. Also the movement is not round, its not an arc, and maybe it will look better with a mesh.

Thanks!

4 Likes

Something to keep in mind with UE4 Anim trails, is they will only make sections per frame of animation that you import.

Ex: if you have a character in Max or Maya, and he swings his sword 180 degrees over 4 frames, Unreal will blend and interpolate the sword moving in that arc, but you will see 4 distinct edges on you trail arc, no matter how much tessellation you give it.

3 Likes

Heya, welcome, I’m sure you’ll enjoy your stay here :smiley:

For me the differences come down to control and usability. Heres a few things to keep in mind

1. Almost every game engine out there alows you to spawn meshes and add a texture to it. Not every engine can create inticate trail renderers.

2. Creating complex meshes is often time consuming, but it gives you full controll over what your effect looks like at any point.

3. Trail render solutions often come with options to create camera facing effects, meshes will not. Depending on the game this might or might not be a problem.

4. Meshes are not a flexible solution, if the animation changes, your mesh will have to be remade or adjusted accordingly.