UE4 - Highlighting the cross section of intersecting geometry

I want to make a material that, when applied to a model, will only render a flat-color cross section of the model as it intersects with other geometry.

Ico has a similar effect to what I’m looking for, with the wave of black advancing outward in a circle.

Would this be possible in UE4?

2 Likes

Use Custom Depth Flag. And compare depths in your material to original depth and render what U want :wink:

Can you be more specific on how to do this? I’m still a novice when it comes to creating shaders.

I linked it :slight_smile: there are so examples there

After a while. If U r only interested in intersection and not hidden areas U can use just depthfade node and then invert it. U will get nice gradient along collisions.

I looked through the tutorials and they don’t really get into any depth as far as the implementation goes, which is what I’m still trying to learn.

I suppose a way I could accomplish it would be to do two render passes, one where the object renders normally, and one where the object renders only when occluded. Then take the two render passes and cull everything other than where they intersect. Though like I said, I’m not familiar enough with shader creation to know what I’d need to be able to do this.

hey bud, no need to set up multiple render passes for this.
Depending on your primitives - ie if it’s just a sphere or box you need - it’s fairly simple to do in a shader.

I can’t upload a txt doc with the shader network but it’s this:

Make sure you only transform if its absolutely necessary as it can add expense. if you are just using a sphere you are fine to not transform.

I would think that most primitives here would translate pretty well with this, keeping in mind you’re only going to be drawing on world positions,
http://mercury.sexy/hg_sdf/