UE4 Cascade vs Blueprint

Hello people,

I wanted to ask something. When you create your FX in Unreal, do you use it only in Cascade, or do you mess with blueprints to have more versitility?
Is it mandatory for every effect to have some blueprint action, and how would you use it?

I’m just starting out in RTVFX so, there are many questions :smiley:

Thank you all in advance!

Messing with blueprints or code is necessary if you want to have emitters spawn whenever you press a button or trigger an event. Blueprints would also allow for things like timelines that can tweak parameters in materials. FX is not strictly particles. :wink:

I guess for FX that are static and will play the same every time, for example a melee sword slash that is always the same and in the same range, It isn’t necessary to do some custom blueprint parameters for location and such?

For FX like range projectiles which depend on gameplay, where will it fire and how, you need to do some programming for location, orientation, distance etc.?

If i understand correctly, its the link between BP and Cascade that is important for the particles to have gameplay dependant info on where, when and how to play?

I don’t know how others do this, and it depends on the effect, but we usually call sword swipe stuff in the animation track. Hit impact FX are called via Blueprint. Ambient stuff for environments can usually just be placed in the world, unfortunately our tech artist handles when and how those get culled out and load priority, so I couldn’t give you any direction on that stuff.

Projectiles and hit scan fx are done in blueprint, but you need stuff set up in Cascade for the Blueprint to use.

Do you ever use blueprints to determine how an effect moves? I i tried busting open Luos, kingdom hearts effect to see how it worked, and it looks like its animation is done thru blue prints. How often do you come across somethign like that? This is the on i’m talking about