Thomas Corvée : Sketch #63 "Knockback"

Thumbnail
RTFX_Knockback_Final

Final render: https://youtu.be/zgcReCB7Vew

Hi! This is my first participation in a VFX challenge, I’m so hyped !! I finally have some extra time to make personal projects again and I got inspired by this theme!

I will use this challenge to practice different things I’ve never worked on before so I gathered some references :

I want to make a nice dash attack coming from all around the target like this:

For the big burst, I want to try using an impact frame to amplify the tension. I love this reference and I will try to get as much tension with the impact frame and slo-mo

This is where I’m at for the moment, I’m just putting in some elements and will polish them later when I have everything in place :slight_smile:

RTFX_Knockback_01

Even if it’s wip, don’t hesitate if you have any feedbacks :+1:

14 Likes

Hey Chipster
Your enthusiasm is infectious, and it sounds like you’ve got some awesome ideas for the challenge. The dash attack concept and the use of an impact frame for the big burst sound really exciting. The references you’ve gathered are spot on for creating a dynamic and visually striking effect. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress and final result. Good luck, and have fun with the challenge!

2 Likes

I already love how your elements look like! Keep up an amazing work!

1 Like

Hi! Thanks for your comments it’s encouraging! :grin:

RTFX_Knockback_02

I made a small update on the project lately. Basically, I just duplicated the dash I previously made and put it all around the target! I also added a small circle with a dissolve to feel like the ball is going too fast for the camera ( deeply inspired by this awesome moment in the anime Naruto).

RockLeeVSGaara

I also need to add some slashes on the target, make it move a bit, add some camera shakes, and make the final burst. I can’t wait to do it!

1 Like

:exclamation: Big Update but still WIP :exclamation: