The main difficulty at VFX

Hey friends, I am a 3D Student from germany

Long story short: I feel like the main issue about VFX is to figure out how the Main Texture is looking.

And I feel like there is a lack of High Quality Tutorials for this. I recently watch the Ink Brush tutorial ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7en8Y0GM55I )
And it was awesome,i learned so much!
I would pay a alot for more tutorials like this, like the one from cgwell.

Most of the tutorials on youtube are just focus on Particle systems and not on the texture. They just take they ready textures and than its done. ( some make it like Sirhaian and those are the best )
For someone like me who is new at VFX, is it just trail and error? Or it is me that i dont know how to make some cool poison skill effect?

What should i focus on to figure out what is looking good at the end?

Some one got experience for the CGWorkshops training? is it worth?

hey, you’re right that the texture is very important - and yes it can sometimes be a bit trial and error, it often depends massively on the style of game and fx you’re making. have you checked out Jason Keyser’s LoL FX breakdowns? https://www.youtube.com/user/jasonkeyser/playlists there’s a load of good reference for the sorts of textures they use there in their fx.

are there any specific types of vfx textures that you’re struggling with? there’s a lot of different techniques that can be used in fx creation - simulations, hand painted, simple masks with heavy shader work - it all depends on the type of visuals you’re going for.

You’re not going to like this answer, but it depends.

Effects are, at the end of the day, all about making textures, sprites, meshes, lights, and shaders all work together to create something cool. That’s why it’s hard to say “this is how you make the perfect texture for an effect”, because depending on the style and situation, your effect might not even need one!