Student WIPs

Hey everyone!

My name is Kyle Valentin and I am a student at Laguna College of Art and Design. I decided at the beginning of my senior year that VFX work really interests me but there is little to no where to learn it! So after becoming best friends with google and lurking on the facebook group a while, I’m finally here to get some feedback. The goal is to have 3-5 solid pieces I can take to companies come to December when I graduate.

I’m hoping for some really strong constructive feedback from the community at large. I’m going for hand painted stylized vfx aimed towards Blizzards/Riot/Carbines kind of style. Any info would be great and much appreciated!

Here is a video of the 3 I’m currently working on:

https://youtu.be/5VqqQuM2HC4

Thanks everyone! =D

2 Likes

Hey man, welcome to the forum!

First lesson - presentation! Kill that horrible floor and just use a flat grey - i want to see the effect, not be distracted by the ground. Secondly lets see a few more angles and closer up - i presume you’ve seen this effect? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bCLq6p6OD0 not only is it an awesome effect but he’s really presented it well with the focus on the effect.

as for the fx themselves, they’re pretty cool. i’m no expect on stylised fx but i’ve definitely shipped games with worse looking things :slight_smile:

there’s a bit of a style mismatch in the fireball - i really like the handdrawn cut out effect you have on impact but the initial burst and trail effects are much more noisey - little hand animated flame shapes would be much more in keeping.