Sticking with your current engine, or learning another?

Hey all, I’ve been working in Unity for about 3 years now and that’s the only engine I’ve been using in the companies I’ve worked at.

My current situation is that I only have a small freelance assignment currently and am currently looking for work in Los Angeles, but it feels as if no one is looking for Unity artists at the moment. A lot of job postings I’ve seen for the past couple months have been looking for UE4 artists.

So I just wanted to hear some opinions and maybe even some experiences. Did you specialize in one engine or spread yourself out a little into another? I can see myself learning UE4, but not fast enough to get hired for it.

Hey Kelvin,

I’ve worked at various companies across the years and have never been fortunate enough to work with either Unreal or Unity on a production level, I have self taught myself Unreal over the years in my spare time and personally feel that if you know how to do it in one engine then you have some knowledge of where to begin looking for information on how to do it in another engine.

Each engine has there Pro’s and Con’s and its up to you which one you feel more comfortable within but it doesn’t hurt just scratching the surface of the other engine :wink:

Gareth :slight_smile:

That’s true, I guess my expectations were a little too high, it really wouldn’t hurt to pick at a different engine every so often just to familiarize yourself with some of its pieces.

Thanks for your response :slight_smile:

In my experience, it’s far more important that your fx look good than what engine you’re using. In a recent job interview, the fact that I had 5+ years of Unity experience and no Unreal experience whatsoever (except in doing a single art test) was a non-issue (edit: even though the studio works in Unreal). The studio was happy to have me anyway, confident that the skills would transfer easily.