Recreating Dig Trail Effect From Ori

Hey everyone, so I’m trying to recreate an effect as close as possible to the following trail from Ori and the Will of the Wisps and I find it quite difficult:
ori_digging

I’m using Unity, my best attempt uses a Trail Renderer with a custom sprite I made in Photopshop:
my_best_attempt.gif
Here is the sprite I used:

This looks like I’m almost there but I can’t figure out how to keep the trail sprite from following the trail head as it moves away. According to this other post it sounds like something similar can be achieved by offsetting the UV’s based on distance travelled but I don’t quite understand how to do that.

I’m new to VFX so any pointer in the right direction would be extremly useful, do you guys think this effect uses a Particle System? A Trail Renderer? A Line Renderer? Any combinaison of the above with a custom Shader?

Thanks!

Edit: directly embeded all images instead of linking to external.

1 Like

There are 2 main aspects of this effect.

The first, as you noticed, is the keep the trail’s texture from “moving”. As that thread you linked to discusses, this is harder than it sounds and Unity’s trail renderer actively works against you in achieving it. The only real solution is to not use Unity’s trail renderer at all. There aren’t even any assets on the store that I’m aware of that are able to do this properly. I’ve ended up hand writing my own every time I need this, even excellent assets like Ara Trails doesn’t have this option. This is obviously a big issue, but it is what it is.

The second part is the trail mesh is a constant width, and the texture being used is a gradient height map that doesn’t tapper. Instead the trail is fading out the alpha and that alpha is driving a cutoff edge on the height map. It’s a carefully controlled dissolve shader. Something like this:

2 Likes

Thanks for taking the time to answer,