Raed AlAmoudi - VFX Demo Reel (Feedback please <3)

Hey everyone!!

I am a very recent graduate from SCAD (with a double major in Visual Effects & Game Development) and pursuing a path for Real Time VFX! I wanted to ask you guys, if you guys may please rip apart my demo reel so I can learn from my mistakes and improve myself :slight_smile: I am also looking for a job at the moment as well!

Thank you guys and have a great week!!! :smiley:

This is my demo reel :smiley:

5 Likes

Hey Raed! My major feedback is that this reel is a fantastic showcase of your generalist work. For that purpose, I wouldn’t change a thing. But since you’re specifically looking for VFX feedback, something you could do is make separate videos and/or gifs for each of the VFX, done in isolation, maybe with a simple environment, with a stationary camera. This will make it easy for people to see every piece one by one, and breakdown how exactly you could improve it. You could simply post each singled-out video on this thread to keep all the feedback in one place.

But again: please don’t delete this video! It really demonstrates your ability to be a holistic game developer, not just an artist that works in a vacuum by yourself.

I’m excited to meet up at GDC. You should reach out to @ShannonBerke to see about attending the Riot mixer. Also, if your pass includes the VFX roundtables, that would be a fantastic place for you to network and gain some industry contacts.

Hey Jason! I actually have them seperatly here in my website, still working on the material and particle breakdowns for them coming soon :slight_smile: but here it is :smiley: http://www.raed2art.com/fx-for-games (actually please mute the vimeo videos on this cuz i made a huge mistake of leaving the sounds in xD) :smiley: But I will post them all in this thread!! also Thank you so much for the motivation boost :smiley: since i am just getting started into the industry ^u^ See ya in 10 days haha :smiley: and have a great week !