Overwatch - Orisa's Shield FX study

Finished :

WIP:

Hey guys! Been lurking for a bit. I decided to go ahead and start a project, since just reading and making small prototypes won’t get me anywhere.
I really love OW’s effects and plan to do more studies in the coming days!

I’m not really sure about a lot of parts of this since I’m new to FX and Unreal, although I have an overall idea of how I might do things. I’ll just figure it out as I go along. This’ll be my first FX thingy.

Also, I want to try to be optimal and learn good practices from the get-go.

Here’s the progress so far. Pardon me for the sloppy image, quickly whipped it up.

Thank you :blush:!

3 Likes

This would help you then: https://youtu.be/vsae7C1TgZc

1 Like

Oh, damn. Seems like someone already made a full tutorial Thanks for the link!

I’ll keep trying to figure it out by myself first, it’s fun!

1 Like

WIPs

Figured out a lot of things, learning a lot. Have to play with the values and then come up with a way to animate the hexagon tiles.

https://streamable.com/3mb8r

Current WIP:

Getting closer to the finalish shader I think? There’s still a lot of massaging of values to do, aligning the grids etc. Also not sure if using debugSineTime is good or bad performance wise (that’s how I do the pulsing tiles and the streaks of lines) might have to just use simple textures and pan them instead for this.

https://streamable.com/dgjmc

Well, this was fun. Had to figure out how to manage the textures since they’re different, sync tiling and make parameters to make it easy to art direct/vis dev it later.

https://streamable.com/e21ke

Also did some misc cleanup and added the streak thingy. Have to make it go only from the center out now. (right now it ping pongs)

I think I’m done with these textures for now.