My Game FX Progress Journal - Maysie

Hi there!
My name is Maysie and I wanted to post my FX progress here.
Both for feedback and (Hopefully) seeing improvement as time goes on.

I’ve only been doing FX for about 7 months so far and have been working in Unity.
I am currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Technologies and graduate in November with hopes of getting a job as an FX artist.
Most of the FXs I have so far are from games that I have been working on in my degree. Most of these games have just been prototypes, but we are moving one into vertical slice now.

I’d love feedback on my lastest FXs as those will usually be the ones that I am still working on :blush:

My artstation: https://www.artstation.com/maysiepyatt

2 Likes

Projectile FX

1VH4lWuXR2

This is a projectile that I am currently working on.
I’m not great at scripting, but I’m quite happy with how it came out so far.
I followed this tutorial on Youtube to get the basics: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xenW67bXTgM&list=PLVBCUy3K06VJNQ5ah56v7IcL__3RZrxMm&index=39&t=0s

I’m currently working on making it more personalised.
I used a texture sheet for the main projectile part.

It stretches a bit which I’m not overly happy about, but I’ll keep fiddling around with it until I get it working the way I want.

It’s used for an enemy that spits in a game that I’m working on at uni.
Here are the animations I did of the character for context.
32v2SrIvPZ

Model done by https://www.artstation.com/zacman70
Texture done by https://www.artstation.com/cosmon
Texture Sheet done by https://www.artstation.com/irena

These are all artists who I am working in a group with at my Uni and have consented for their artstation accounts and work to be shown here.

5 Likes

Add a light or a flash perpendicular to the wall.

1 Like

Weapon FX
I’ve had to take a pause on the projectile as our vertical slice is due this Friday.
I’m looking at continuing to update the projectile fx once we move into our next phase of game dev.