Mesh Appear over time

Hey there :smiley: So I’m trying to create an Earth effect that works like a crack opening from point A to point B but i don’t have a minimum clue on how to do it

This is a ref I took from a Gabriel Aguiar video.
Right now I’m working with Niagara system and I’m still very new to it
Every help would be amazing, thank you in advance :smiley:

Are you planning to use just a texture for a crack or would you like to use a mesh like in the reference?

PS. I’ve yet to worked with Niagara but I can help with material preparation and stuff.

I was planning to use a texture for now but the thing is I don’t know how to make it appear over time (from the 0,0 point until the max point), i thought that a gradient texture could help with that…

Are you looking to reveal it like this? Made this, can send a picture of material if this is correct :slight_smile:

1 Like

Exactly! The main thing you need are gradient texture and a crack texture. You can also use UV node instead of a gradient texture. Anyway, they are used to make a ‘reverse corrosion’.

Note: I use Unity’s Shader Graph to make this, but Unreal’s Material Graph should have all the nodes and works the same since we mostly uses add, multiply, etc.

Here is the basic result

Crack_Simple

The only thing you need is a crack texture

Texture

Now for the shader/material part

Gradient Ramp

The graph here creates a gradient that has its white part ‘eaten away’ based on Reveal parameter. 0 means the gradient is completely blank, while 1 means the gradient is completely full. The movement goes from the brighter part of the gradient to the darker part.

The last Lerp node dictates how bold your ‘fade’ is. The value of A is 0 while B can be whatever. The higher it is, the bolder it will be. You don’t have to use it also if you don’t want to.

• I use UV’s G channel (circled in blue) to create a vertical gradient, but you can replace it with texture.