Material Texture artist interested in VFX

Hi,

I found this forum today, and wanted to ask a question of my own. I like materials and textures best, I especially like using Substance Designer. Would I fit any roles as VFX artist? I am comfortable with node based editors and photoshop. What would be another good software/ editor for me to learn? Haven’t done a lot of animated materials, but I am interested.

My background is in realtime 3d, primarily in environmental work, something that I kinda burned myself out of, but still have always loved creating textures, and now pbr materials.

Thanks for any insight or advice

1 Like

Most of the effects posted here use particles systems. So if you like what you see here, learning either the unity or unreal particle systems would be one of the first things to learn.

having a basic knowledge of a 3d modeling program like blender or maya is pretty important. you don’t necessarily need to know how to sculpt or retopologize or anything, just be able to make and unwrap simple meshes.

there are some vfx that crossover into environment work like water shaders or flags.

some vfx folks use houdini, I don’t use it personally so I can’t really say how useful it is.

1 Like

Hi and welcome! There are certainly roles that your specialization and interests would fit in, although in terms of a professional career, openings may be less numerous and limited to larger studios that use lots of specialized materials in their games, (Bungie and 343 come to mind). A broader position would be a Tech Artist, but there are a lot of things that can fall under that job description outside of materials.

Substance is a great tool to know, and although it’s slow going, vfx is moving to using it more because of its auto tiling and non-destructive workflow.