Important factors involved on getting a job?

Hello there!

I’m a brazilian guy currently living in Rio de Janeiro and I’ve been studying VFX for over 2 months now. I don’t think I’ll be ready to apply for jobs anytime soon, but there has been this voice in my head that shouts a lot of concerns and would be cool to put some light on it :smiley:

I’ve been doing a lot of reads like:

What I gathered so far is:

Your reel should be your best.
Degree isn’t necessary.
Keep on making cool effects and opportunities will show up.

With that in mind, I wanna make some more questions but, before that, I wanna say that I know it’s kinda hard to give me objective answers for some of the stuff I’m gonna ask, meaning reporting what you’ve seen now and then during your career will do just fine too :smiley:

Demo Reel
What are recruiters really looking for on a Reel and who are they? I mean, usually, are they also VFX artists already working on the company or just HR people?
Is it optimal if I target my Demo Reel with an specific job/role/game style in mind or it won’t make that much a difference and should just do whatever I feel like doing? As long as it is good, of course! :laughing:

Remote Jobs
How common are Remote Jobs nowadays? Is it something studios/companies are friendly with or is it some kind of last resource/something avoided? :pensive:

Foreigners
How common is it for companies to hire foreigners to work on site? And what about remotely?
Do companies have some kind of preference when it comes to that? It came to me that it might be more troublesome to hire someone from abroad Vs hiring someone currently living on the same territory. Do companies even hire people from abroad or is a big no no? If they do hire, let’s move to the next question…

…Work Visa, Contract, Citizenship related stuff