Getting an Internship

I’m a student (game design, 3rd year) trying to break into VFX for games.

I was wondering if you guys had any tips for networking (at events or online).

Should I try to do volunteer/online work or should I just work on portfolio pieces? Should I start up a tutorial channel on YT?

I’ve been toying around with Unreal, Houdini, and After Effects. Are technical or artistic skills more highly valued? I’m going for more realistic stuff rather than painted so I’m wondering if I should sell myself as a technical VFX artist.

Where do I start? Everyone else is going in a generic “game design” direction and I’m getting a lot of trouble from staff and other students for wanting to do VFX. All my school wants to set people up with are unity dev positions so I’m going to have to work on my own, outside of the framework (which means coldcalling, ect).

1 Like

Build cool effects, show them off here, get coldcalled. Seriously. There’s a huge demand for VFX artists at the moment so if you can show that you are really good, people will be reaching out to you instead.

Show that you have an eye for timing, composition and know how to tie it all together and really finish a piece with all the bells and whistles and you are head and shoulders above most others. A technical effect that you give up on halfway won’t help you as much.

1 Like

When you feel that you’re on a proper quality I’d recommend to start posting your work online/ArtStation. It’s not that much vfx on artstation so it’s quite easy to stand out if you put out proper quality, that way you’ll most likely get freelance offers/job offers after a while. Just don’t expect to get something at once, just keep posting fairly often and you’ll get more recognized.