How practical is Niagara for game dev?

I’m curious how people’s interactions and use of Niagara have gone. It is obviously an insanely powerful tool but how practical is it for actual game development versus cascade? The learning curve is pretty steep, and basically involves learning a new language and ways of thinking about fx- Has anyone integrated it into their regular pipeline or is it primarily used for one off vfx?

Another thing I’m curious about, how is everyone keeping up with all the new techniques and possibilities that have opened up to vfx artists in the past couple of years?

1 Like

Hey @EdwardLouis I’ve been using cascade for the past 8 years, even when UDK was around (old unreal engine), recently I started switching to Niagara and I must say there are a lot of similarities between Cascade and Niagara. Definitely a lot of “transferable knowledge” there.

Niagara has a lot of additional features and options, I did explore some of them but definitely I did not even scratch the surface of it. Definitely worth to start investing time to learn it as it will replace Cascade at some point imo.

In terms of Niagara and production, I have not used it yet but I’ll be pushing for it asap. The only issues I’ve got so far with it is the LOD system as I cannot find it in Niagara :slight_smile: other than that no issues.

2 Likes

You make a good point. Niagara likely will become the standard. But yeah I still can’t figure out how LODs are handled either lol

I believe the fortnite team have used Niagara in their workflow.

I’ve done a few tests with it before, and it very much feels like a step up in freedom. If a certain particle behavior isn’t in the engine just yet, nothing stops you from just adding it in.

1 Like