Houdini for game development: worth it? If yes, when?

Hey guys!

I’m a game developer with almost 5 years of experience who uses Unity and C# and had some experience with Unreal and C++. I’ve been studying to focus on technical art for around 6 months now. I started focusing my energy on recapping some math, then shaders (writing them on ShaderLab), then ShaderGraph, then Unity Particle System, and, finally, VFX Graph. With my experience using Unity during these 5 years I had some idea of how everything worked but these last months I really focused on it.

From what I have already researched, Houdini is an amazing VFX tool worth it to learn for artists, but I see a lot of people talking about movies VFX, not so much about gaming. So my question is: as a technical artist, is it worth putting effort into learning Houdini? And, if yes, it’s something worth looking out at this point or it’s better to put this effort after, I don’t know, 1 or 2 years of experience with shaders, for example?

Thanks a lot! Is not easy to get an answer to this question as it seems. There is not A LOT of content focused on gaming on the internet as I imagined that would have been. And, obviously, if you guys have links to discussions about the topic, it’s super welcome!

This might be an unpopular opinion, but from the point of view of games :

1. FX Artist : There’s some nice tools in the package (mostly VAT), and if you have access to the software either way you might as well use it, but I don’t think it’s worth the cost. There’s also no point studying it either since it’s pretty straightforward anyway.

2. FX TA : Unless your entire team knows Houdini, it’s pretty useless. You’ll just end up giving your team tools they cannot use without you constantly helping. I would instead focus on learning and building for the software your team is already using.