GDC 2017 Presentation: Volume to Mesh Workflows in Houdini

While waiting for my main presentation to show up in the GDC vault, I’ve recorded the presentation I gave at the SideFX booth on the expo floor. It covers how to make meshes from flipsimulations and how we created a cloudlandscape in Battlefield 1. Even if you’re not familiar with Houdini, hopefully you can pick up a couple of tricks from it.

Edit: Adding image for Thumbnail

42 Likes

Thank you for posting this! This is a perfect first step for me as I’m just learning Houdini (as well as Unreal). I posted asking about using textures to drive animations of meshes like these, but that process is still a bit daunting for me. Still pursuing it, but I like that this reinforces the idea of using as little tech as needed for an effect.

One question about the clouds: Is the overdraw still not bad? I know the particles are only spawning on the mesh surfaces, but in the Battlefield example the clouds are covering at least half the screen and extend from right in your face to way off in the distance. I feel like if I were to visualize the overdraw I might have a heart attack with the results. Maybe I’m missing something?

Overdraw was a challenge, but keep in mind that there’s not a whole lot else going on in the level. Well, modelwise. No terrain, only a flat plane with London painted on it. It’s just clouds, and loads of gameplaystuff. When you fly through the clouds, they do indeed cover the entire screen.

If I remember correctly, on Ps4 and Xbone, the clouds used something like 1500 particles for the entire level.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the level of “badness” overdraw causes is also based on the complexity of the shader. We didn’t use any custom shaders. These are simply lit, non-normalmapped sprites. Nothing fancy going on that’s going to make them more expensive.

6 Likes

Excellent info, thanks.