Boorch's VFX Sketchbook

Hi folks!

I’m an (ex)linear visual effects artist. I used to work as a Autodesk Flame Artist in post-production studios and I mostly did compositing/motion graphics. I’m also heavily into sound design.

4 years ago I’ve switched to game development and released 2 games (both are 2d and pixel-art :confused: )

Lately I delved into the realtime VFX land in hopes of pursuing this as a career someday.

• Scene is rendered in Unity (Lightweight Rendering Pipeline)
  • Flame Ring and Distort Bubble has custom shaders I’ve created in Shader Graph.
  • All textures/flipbooks (except the smoke) created in Substance Designer.
  • All 3D models third party.

I’d love to get your feedback!

20 Likes

Hey boorch! Welcome to the forum!

First off, I would say that you’ve got an amazing sense of timing. The rocks bouncing add a nice touch. I also totally love your distortion cylinder and bubble, pretty well done for a first Rtvfx!

• For now I would work on some color values and contrast. Almost everything is this hot purple pink blue color and giving it some contrast would really help. Check out the Official League of Legends VFX Style Guide the whole value section as well as page 22 for some help with color.

• Regarding the bouncing rocks, I would look a bit more into refining the motion since the rock that bounces up that way wouldn’t land the same way as it started.

• One other thing I would work on is your textures for the smoke at the end (both, the purple as well as the grey smoke). Currently it just looks very much like the same texture on repeat with less variation in noise. You’re probably already doing something similar but this post here should help a bit too: VFX Basics - Creating the scrolling texture with mask setup

• Lastly if you’d like to, you can also try adding soft particles to your smoke particles so they don’t do a hard intersection to the ground.

Overall, great first FX and best of luck with your future VFX.

1 Like