A Talent System in Contra Mobile

Hi, everyone. I am a vfx artist for the Contra team at Tencent. I am currently responsible for the visual effects in Contra Mobile and the new project has produced an amazing game. Today, I would like to share a game system we have in Contra and discuss with everyone how inspiration hits my brain and how I make visual effects from it.

It is called Talent System, from which you can unlock your skills by powering so you can have a stronger character. This is one of the methods that you can use to achieve this. There are three different stones with different colors that represent different abilities that you can unlock.

The first question: What elements should I use in the device to make it fit the art style of Contra Mobile? As we all know, Contra is a game that it happens in the future, although it was invented a few decades ago. So, elements can be about hi-tech, science, or anything that we might not be able to imagine now. The first things that come to my mind are energy, electricity, and maybe a little magic.

energy GettyImages-504281324-ccba1e1

As we see in the picture, the entire color theme is blue with three different stones that are orange, red and green. We need to make sure these three parts of the effect are interrelated. So, the main difference lies in the colors. The core occupies the major part of the device and obviously, if we are going to have a huge effect, that is where you can see it.

The three stones move in three different directions, and the major effect is in the middle. If we successfully power one of the stones, it will insert into the glass in three directions, and the energy will be passed down to the core. This will enable the core to have a huge impact because energy hits the core, resulting in an energy explosion to tell our players they have successfully upgraded the device and unlocked the abilities of the characters they use in the game.