What technical skills do you attribute with your success?

:wave:t5:

I’m looking to make a career switch from 2D art and animation into VFX because the potential for growth is much higher than my current role.
I’m still learning the ropes in Unreal, though I’ve been using Unity for the large part of my game dev career. I don’t think i’ll be able to make leaps on just my understanding of Niagara, Shuriken, and Shaders/Materials though.

I’d like to ask (especially to the big earners) - what technical skills did you develop to access higher pay tiers and what might you encourage someone to focus on early for bigger returns later down the line?

I appreciate any response, thanks ya’ll!

I might not be the perfect person to answer this as I got a bit different motivation for VFX, but from what I’ve seen around VFX art is about certain skills:

• Most of our time is in engine: Niagara, Shuriken, Materials/Shaders
  • Some time on asset creation: Photoshop, Designer, Blender etc.
  • Some time on simulations/VAT: Houdini, Embergen etc.

In many cases it’s well paid specialization afterall, I believe it’s more about quality of effects you make rather than which tools you chose (tho imo it depends on so many factors that it’s hard to predict)

1 Like

Hey Manus, you’re very active on the forum, and I appreciate your breakdown. I figured I’d have to dig into simulation stuff sooner or later - which is seeming more sooner than later - but good point about the quality of vfx being one of the most important determining factors.

Does anything come to your mind around resources to help me learn Unreal VFX? There’s a gap in what i’ve found between foundational/generic stuff and more technical things (which I can’t name cause I don’t know)

1 Like

Huge part of VFX are techniques (so different approaches of solving a specific problem), to learn them you basically just need to create variety of effects and watch people use different techniques.