Stylized Cartoon Explosion - Overwatch Inspired

Hi everyone,

I am a Sr. VFX artist and I would love to share my recent work to this wonderful community for learning and knowledge. I have been working on a stylized cartoon explosion for a while these days. It is inspired by one of the gameplay scenes from an amazing game Overwatch. Its one of my favorite games.

I have used Fork Particle editor. The outer ring of the explosion has been made by applying shader to achieve the alpha masking. Used a few textures and ref emitters

Overwatch Reference I recorded

Would love the suggestions for improvements. Thanks :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thanks @iNoob would love to see some input for improvements :slight_smile:

Well I am not an expert, still I added a few points.

Main explosion (Center Part) can be like 200% bigger.
Also it feels like life of it is a bit longer than the original.
I think it would look great if it scales up as well.
You could change the background color so that we can see the ending smoke as well.

1 Like

This is looking cool man! I don’t know if you want to copy this 1:1 or were just using it as inspiration, but one thing that pops out to me is that the main read of your effect is slightly different from your reference. When looking at your version, this ring is what I’m looking at most of the time:

I think I’m looking at it a lot on yours because it’s sharp, high contrast with the background, and sticks around for a while.

If you look at your reference you will see that this shockwave is a bit more subtle. I’d say it’s not even a primary element (or primary read). It’s a bit less opaque, softer, and bursts out rather quickly, not sticking around very long.