Site Maintenance - Saturday, October 1 @ 11pm (pst)

It’s been a surprisingly stable run, but it’s time I finally take down the server and learn from the lessons over the past few weeks. The biggest change is actually a server relocation to a new facility. I’m expecting the site to be down for no more than 3 hours, but I’m an amateur, so… fingers crossed.

Here’s my full to do list:

:black_square_button: Move Server to San Francisco Location (better everything)
:black_square_button: Update Discourse SDK
:black_square_button: Fix page width issues with scroll bar
:black_square_button: Fix Incorrect badge naming and assignments
:black_square_button: Install tool to help query post stats (for competitions, etc)
:black_square_button: Attempt to fix respond by email functionality
:black_square_button: Setup auto-tweet tool so the twittersphere can discover all this rad knowledge
:black_square_button: Begin setup for https certs (coming later)
:black_square_button: Begin setup for light/dark theme selector (still a WIP)

5 Likes

Just a reminder that this is happening tonight!

Going down in T-Minus 1-Hour

P.S. (pray for me)

1 Like

Success, although transferring Data and DNS to the new data center proved to take forever. Sorry for the long downtime everyone. At least we won’t have to do that again anytime soon.

Here are a few changes:

:ballot_box_with_check: Move Server to San Francisco Location (better everything)
:ballot_box_with_check: Update Discourse SDK
:ballot_box_with_check: Fix page width issues with scroll bar
:ballot_box_with_check: Install tool to help query post stats (for competitions, etc)
:ballot_box_with_check: Attempt to fix respond by email functionality**
:ballot_box_with_check: Setup auto-tweet tool so the twittersphere can discover all this rad knowledge
:ballot_box_with_check: Added new “Staff Pick” staff only tag
:ballot_box_with_check: Begin setup for ssl certs (coming later)