Reduce overdraw on background smoke effect in UE4

Hey, guys!

I’m not really a VFX artist, but I’m trying to help our team on a task of reducing overdraw issues of a background smoke effect on a VR game I’m working on. Right now, it’s a particle effect with a single plane and a single translucent material with a rendered billowy smoke from Houdini, playing on an 8x8 SubUV module. We are using a few of them in the background, and since it’s a big translucent plane, we are getting overdraw problems.
I’ve tried the particle cutout option, but it gave me this result, you can see the cuts and it doesn’t look that good.

Can you guys suggest anything else to help with this? I’m not particularly fluent in optimization stuff inside Unreal. Any help appreciated! Thanks! :slight_smile:

If it’s on a single card, you may get issues with the cutout feature. Try adjusting the Alpha Threshold value in the particle cutout section. I think it defaults to 0.1, so try nudging that down to .075 or .05 and see if that still cuts out some overdraw without cutting into the texture.

If that doesn’t work, you may want to try a custom mesh for the flipbook to play on so you don’t have those corners from a single plane. Just remember, if you’re in UE4 and you want to play a SubUV texture on a mesh using Cascade’s built in SubUV functionality, your material needs to use the SubUV texture sample node, not the standard one, or the Subimage Index node in Cascade won’t work.

1 Like

Hey, thanks, Travis! Messing with the alpha options made the cut less noticeable. I checked the material and it seems fine regarding the SubUV texture sample node too (it’s also a cheap material, not so many instructions). The game doesn’t have many environmental particles in the scene besides this smoke. I set up some LODs and the texture has mipmaps enabled too. Is that enough or is there anything else I can do to reduce overdraw?

Thanks for your help, man!