Question for experienced guys

Good day. Question to all those who are already working in the field of VFX. I was very interested in this field of activity. I have experience in creating 2d illustrations, I also study anatomy, I decided to change the vector of development, but looking at all those fantastic works, my hands drop) I don’t even have a rough understanding of where to start. Perhaps someone could advise where to start for an absolute noob?

Hello Lolkin :smiley:

I’m no pro but I think I can help.

The real time VFX you see out there are made on a Particle Editor, which are commonly found inside Game Engines and other kind of softwares too.

At first, pick a course on Udemy or follow tutorials on Youtube. Don’t stress about which Game Engine you’re gonna start with. Did you put your eyes on a tutorial/course that do some cool stuff on whatever engine? Go on, download and install it, and just start!

About the skills you have already developed: all that will help you!
2D painting will help you a lot on hand painting textures on Photoshop/Krita or any similar software.
What I mean by textures, I’m refering to stuff like this:

You will be painting all kinds of things like organic, elemental, magical, abstract, ethereal

I don’t know about anatomy, but I’m sure you have developed good observing skills by studying it and improving it. Your keen eye will definitely help you.

Course recommendation:

This is the first course out of 4 courses by Gabriel Aguiar. It’s on Unity engine.
https://www.udemy.com/course/vfx-for-games-in-unity-beginner-to-intermediate/

This is the same course, but the Unreal version of it.
https://www.udemy.com/course/ue4-vfx-for-games-beginner-to-intermediate/