Question: Animating in UE4 for VFX? Do you use Sequencer or Blueprints? (Beginner)

Hey Folks,

It’s been a while! I’ve recently started moving over to UE4 since I want to work on more AAA geared portfolio pieces. I’m coming from Unity so I’m trying to understand the UE4 pipeline.

I’ll also be looking into Houdini. I’m interested in learning how to make Looping Fire/Smoke/Magic sims. Any tutorial links or info would be greatly appreciated!

Lastly, I’m a beginner in Blueprints but I’m more familiar with Cascade and Materials (“Shaders” in Unity).

My primary questions are (best methods):

1. How do you spawn/toggle a VFX effect? I’m doing this for portfolio, does it matter if I use blueprints or sequencer?

2. How do you attach VFX to geometry? (i.e. fire and sparks vfx to a meteor).

3. How do you animate vfx motion? Is it through Blueprints, 3dsmax or through Sequencer? (i.e. Player casts spell, Meteor appears and crashes down, explosion vfx plays)

Thanks!

Heya! Unity can also do some cool AAA stuff, but I understand why you’d want to try Unreal as well :smiley:

For Houdini you can check this tutorial out by @Partikel https://www.pluralsight.com/courses/houdini-vfx-games

For the other questions:

1. If you are doing some gameplay stuff, easiest would be Blueprint. If you are making a cinematic, Sequencer, perhaps in combination with Blueprint. Generally the things I use the most while making blueprints are “timeline”, “set vector/scalar parameter” and custom events. Those are the main things that drive different parameters.

2. Blueprint - there’s no Prefab system like Unity, so you’d need to combine them in a Blueprint.

3. Those are usually through custom events that programmers make and then I hook up different particle system to them. You can either attach the system in the BP itself and make it visible, invisible or spawn emitter at location, depending on what you need. The first option is cheaper, since the effect is already linked to the player.