Profiling Tips

On facebook a friend was asking about learning to code to become better at profiling on his indie projects and identifying when things are cpu vs gpu bound. I wrote up a bit about my experiences profiling effects and thought it might be apropos for discussion here too. Do any of you have other opinions/tips on profiling troubled scenes? Discuss below!

Here’s what I wrote:

“More so than learning to code, I’d recommend he look toward becoming an expert at profiling tools first. Things like pix for Xbox and razor for ps4. There’s similar for pc dev, I’ve got a msg out to my former cto about the name of it.

As an effects artist, I found the above profilers we used invaluable to identifying where a scene went wrong. Often, when effects are involved, it’s a gpu problem where a particle system was filling the screen with too many large particles. Sometimes a physics or an fx light overage. More rarely, too many instances spawning at once or overuse of a very expensive technique like our custom time of flight physics particles. I could capture a lagging frame with pix and see nanosecond timings of every single draw call call… and step through them, watching as each draws. That gives you a great targeted way to identify the worst offender (layer with the largest nanosecond timing, like <1,000,000 which is 1 ms of our 3ish ms fx gpu budget… and when you spot a layer that is over budget… stepping through allows you to visually identify what effect its coming from. There’s also a materiel name associated with that line item, which narrows the problem to “which layer within this effect is the offender.”

This is about as deep as I’d go with pix and razor but it’s just as useful for finding non fx related issues.