NPR/Cartoon Style VFX and Other Noobish Queries

I’m a web designer turned middling motion graphics animator, and a complete VFX neophyte and who has very recently come across this amazing site in my efforts to become something vaguely recognizable in a dark alley as a pro if you squint hard enough.

Despite the abundance of amazing resources generously offered here and the internet abroad, I’m having a difficult time figuring out just where to begin, especially in regards to creating NPR (do people still even use this term?)/anime style effects for non-interactive animated production.

I work primarily in After Effects, but I’ve noticed a great majority of the VFX tutorials I’ve seen so far with really cool effects most relevant to my vision are created in Unity or related gaming engines, which I suppose is to be expected considering this site is called REALTIME VFX and not POSTPRO VFX, XD! Other times, they start off in After Effects, then export to formats more conducive to the aforementioned engines, but I’ve yet to see anyone making things in something like Unity, then exporting that work into After Effects. Can it be done? If so, is it a sort of workflow heresy?