Need help with Luos lightning bolts! zap zap

Hi all! It’s me - the forum scrub.

I’m quite new to fx and UE4, but I’ve been racking my brains over something for a week, but I’m a bit stuck and needed some help, if you please :slight_smile: I’ve been following this amazing lightning tutorial for making a material by this Yoeri -Luos- Vleer guy (I think he’s around here somewhere)

I’ve got the material working great, but what I can’t seem to get working is having the material do a “zap zap!” in a lightning bolt fashion. I’ve searched through a bunch of tutorials, but my node graph just seems to end up as a mess of panners and lerp-a derps. Did anyone have any suggestions, or could point me in the right direction please? Thanks in advance!

Could you clarify what you’re trying to achieve?

You want your lightning bolt to flash in an out like it does in the real world?

Yes thats correct. Like a lightning bolt. And then I was going to add a shockwave and such later

Could you copy your graph and paste it into here so I can take a look?

Thanks for your help Kanoba - much appreciated

Gimme a minute to just put something together

Try this its a quick simple fix but ideally you dont want IF statements in your materials because of the way your GPU handles them it should be fine for what your doing. also theres probably a better way to do this, this is just the first way I remembered how to do it haha il try quickly throw together another one put it into a multiply where ive marked I think should work let me know how that goes.

Or something like this will give more of a random flash effect but has no fade to it like the first one, just make sure you set the periods on the sine’s to random values

Thanks Kanoba, these have me heading in the right direction! I guess the proper way to do this would be to have it flash on-click right?. I will keep trying :slight_smile:

You’ll need to do that in blueprints then.

here are some things you can play around with.