My first particle effect attempt in UE4 - feedback/criticism appreciated

Hey all,

So I am 4 weeks in to learning the cascade system in unreal. I have absolutely no VFX experience, and everything I am doing is self taught using youtube tutorials etc, so I apologise if I am slow at picking up official VFX lingo :slight_smile:

Here is my first attempt at a particle effect. The idea behind it is a linear rock smash type spell. I haven’t got round to an initial casting effect yet, this is just the travel and impact section of what I am trying to achieve.

Any advice/criticism is most welcome! thanks for taking the time to view.

7 Likes

This is pretty good for your first attempt! Try adding some more slight position/oitation variation to the meshes spawn, right now the all look very exactly identical. Changing the position can help give some diversity.

Also, right now the entire effect has a very linear flow(speed is the same throughout the entire effect), there needs to be some variation in the flow that emphasizes the final impact.

Keep up the great work!

1 Like

Thanks!

I’ll give it a go, I suppose I can try randomising the horizontal offsets so that they don’t appear in a dead straight line. I’ll play about with the spawn rotation as well.

As for the speed, I am unsure what to do about this, would it make sense to start off slow and ramp it up? or fast, and then slow it down to highlight the final impact?

I would start it fast and then decelerate as it travels forward. I would also scale down the debris rocks a bit (the big ones at the end) and add much more random size variation. Some smoke/dust clouds around the ground and the debris will help blend it all together.

1 Like

It’s Caleb! :stuck_out_tongue:

Cool, I’ll make those tweaks over the next couple of days when I have time and repost the effect on this thread… I was toying with the idea of a few embers floating up from the cracks as well… anyways I’ll keep ya posted!