Looking for an Unreal-focused Shader course and any other pointers

Hello, I’ve been working for several years as a real-time 3D modeller across both Unity and Unreal, and I’m now interested in developing a more varied skill set with a view to working on more technical, boundary-pushing projects with a focus on things that are visually captivating and unique. My favorite types of game spaces are either mind-bending escher-esque landscapes, or smooshy, maleable ecologys, and I haven’t been able to get close enough to creating either with a standard 3d asset pipeline. I’m trying to develop the skill set to overcome this, and I feel that has to include more of an ability to develop procedural content and work smartly with shaders.

Around this time last year, I learnt the basics of C# and released a small game in Unity, with the idea that this was the slightly more accessible engine to use for starting to create procedural content, but then Unreal 5 was announced, and I decided to move over and do more or less the same with C++ and Unreal 4, because this looked like a more capable and exciting engine for what I ultimately wanted to create. I can now do basic things in Unreal with C++ and/or blueprints, and I feel like I’m much closer to being able to do some really interesting stuff.

I now feel like the missing part of my toolkit is a solid understanding of shaders, and as I’ve mentioned, most of the tutorials I’ve found on that subject are Unity-focused. I wanted to ask if anyone has suggestions for a shader tutorial series that goes from beginner to advanced in Unreal and with HLSL? I’m also open to any suggestions about the approach I’ve outlined above.

Check out my videos on YouTube (tharle vfx) and those of Ben Cloward - theyre more node based that hills but we’ve both done series on simple and advanced shaders in u4

1 Like

If you are looking for information on specific unreal shader graph nodes this playlist by Mathew Wadstein goes through a lot of them.