Lightning Strike! (stylized) what do you guys think?(Update)

HI ! My name is Henri and I am a student at the Academy of Art University.

I am focusing on VFX at 200% and I still have 2 years to learn before I break into the industry !( if the industry doesn’t break me first haha)

I am trying to get better at doing VFX but without feedback it’s a big struggle.

I would love if you could give me feedback on my work. :slight_smile:

I am currently trying to make a Lighting strike for the sake of practice and there are my issues:
-I am trying to go for a League of Legend style but my style does not quite match.
-Look messy.
-Lacking punch.
-There is something wrong about it but I can tell what.
-ground mark missing (working on it)

This is the original lightning before I got feedback:

from there I made 2 version :

So what do you guys think?

Thank you for checking my work!!

If the video isn’t clear enough and you want to take a closer look, here are the lightning as Unity Packages.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4dZwN86PmwHeXNlblUzTTM1UzA

Henri

3 Likes

It just lacks some punch, and feels like the overall effect takes too long. Looks like your emitter lasts for close to 1.9 seconds. Cut that down to maybe .75 seconds, and try adjusting the curve for your impact hemisphere’s size over life to a hyperbolic curve

1 Like

Agreed with @Travis. You have a good start, now, time to add some punch to it. :slight_smile:

I recommend checking out lots of lightning references. A good one I found recently would be this. It is a bit “much”, but hey, it’s pretty. :smiley:

You could try shortening the impact burst to just a few frames. As for the scale curve, I’d use something like this. Super fast expansion at first, then it slowly stops growing. For now, your scale up seems very linear. It also seems to stop at one point, then expand fast, which looks a bit weird.

I really like the shapes you have on the ground after the impact!

3 Likes