Learning Particle Effects - All Critique/Advice Welcome!

Hi all,

So I joined this community to learn about making particles, and as an absolute beginner I have already learned a bunch with the kind help of people here (thanks for all your posts/advice and patience so far!).

I thought it would be good to start a thread that I can revisit and add to as I learn and create more, with the hope of picking up advice and tips as I go… I won’t get better unless people tell me what rocks and what sucks right?

I am jumping back and forth between Unity and Unreal at the moment as I am trying to learn as much as possible in both engines, whilst also picking up photoshop and 3DS max as much as I can…

So here it goes… Unity 3d - Basic Swirl/Burst spell effect attempt… no meshes or anything, just basic particle behaviour used… let me know what you think and how you think I can improve it :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Today I wanted to learn how to create a particle for an animation, then attach it and time it using events in Unity.

This is what I came up with, let me know what you think… as always, any advice/critique very welcome!

2 Likes

Nice effort man, Kinda Hadouken :smiley:

1 Like

Thanks Atif :slight_smile: funnily enough I was thinking of doing a projectile Hadouken type thing, but the animation lasted longer so just went with this instead

1 Like

So I played Torchlight 2 again this weekend which I haven’t played in aaaaages… loads of particles going off all the time, which inspired me to make a stylised tornado type thing… (Unity)

I haven’t sorted out how it spawns or linked it up to an animation yet but thought I’d post the progress anyway :slight_smile:

1 Like