Is there a better way to "feather" the edges of a mesh?

So, this is what I have so far:

My goal is to create a sort of orb created from wind. Sort of like like Aang’s air scooter from Avatar: The Last Airbender. I don’t like the sharp edge of the sphere and I was wondering if there is a good way to feather it?

I am working from a shader that I created in Shader Forge. I am incorporating fresnels and it’s given me some success but it’s not quite what I want.

I’ve also tried a bit of vertex offset, but it looked terrible. I am fairly new to working with shaders, so maybe it would work, but at the moment I’m lacking the experience to know how to make it work.

Is there a better way to accomplish this feathering? Or some way to break up the edge a bit?

3 Likes

Looks like you’re pretty close to the solution already. Just inverse your inner fresnel results (unreal calls it a OneMinus node). Additionally, you could multiply the noise texture through the inner fresnel before combining with the other fresnel.

4 Likes

Instead of multiplying those two fresnel values try taking the minimum of the two. You might have to readjust the exponent of each to get the right looking result, but with your current setup it should give you black on the “inside”, a white ring, and black out the outside.

Things to try.
Scale the power of your fresnel between a couple values using another texture.
Scale the offset of the fresnel with another texture.
Flat out multiply some noise against your opacity, but add back a portion of it.

I think your close actually. As William suggested try power; is that better for your falloff? (maybe 2 or 3 instead of 4)

just mult in your other texture with the other falloff and it should be fine

5 Likes

Thanks for all of your help! I really appreciate it! I tried out all your suggestions and I think I about have it:

And for those who are curious:

10 Likes