Is it possible to enter the games industry without prior experience?

Hi, everyone! It’s really nice to meet you all.

My name is Mateus and I’m an indie game developer. During the last six years I designed, developed and published four titles on every modern platform currently available in the market (PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series S/X and Nintendo Switch).

However, at the start of 2023 I had a small “breakthrough” and I started to want to leave the indie scene and start working for an AAA company as a regular employee. Choosing a field wasn’t hard, since I’ve always been fascinated with realtime VFX, so I went ahead and started to do some research before buying courses, digging for resources, etc.

The problem is that I looked at about 60 AAA studios websites and about 90% of them had available positions for VFX artists, but literally all of them required 2-5 years of experience… So my question is: Is it possible to enter the games industry without prior experience? I mean, even if I study for months or years and actually become a good VFX artist, how am I going to meet such a requirement?

I’m probably missing something here, so please help me understand what’s the current state of the games industry to make sure I’m going in the right direction. Thanks a lot!

1 Like

Ye, it is possible. If you build strong portfolio (you can always ask here if a portfolio you have is strong or not) and try applying. Some companies might decline, but some might accept you even though you don’ have experience :smiley:

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply, Manus! So in theory if you’re good enough you can simply skip that experience time requirement? Now I’m wonder how good someone would need to be in that case. :thinking:

By the way, if you don’t mind me asking: do you’ve any portfolios from other game VFX artists you personally admire? That would be a great source of inspiration. Thanks! :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like