Im working on some blood stuff

Hey guys, after seeing the juicy blood effects being produced by some games. I wanted to take a crack at some better blood myself. Im trying to get it looking thick and shiny blood. Instead of the typical realistic bullet impact. Currently trying to get the materials right. The textures are still very much work in progress. They currently look a little like confetti :stuck_out_tongue:

Stage 1:
https://imgur.com/a/fI0su

Stage 2:
https://imgur.com/a/EYYd6

Stage 3 (current) :
https://imgur.com/a/YQCQs

This the being built in Unreal Engine. Any suggestions or help would be much appreciated! Im still pretty new to Unreal Engines Material Editor.

*it appears gif embedding doesn’t work : < *

4 Likes

must be real bloody games when you have such trails of blood :smiley:
I like the first one the most since it has some noticeable shading variation in.

1 Like

Really love it! I always found blood so hard to make. You’re using some kind of disintegration shader, right? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

What are the flashes of light/sparkles in Stage 1?

The fake environment reflection map was playing up. I was cranking up its brightness to make it visible. Clamping it fixed the issue :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m currently trying to add more colour variation to it now. Also making some fatter blobs. Thanks for the replies guys

2 Likes

I actually really like the density of stage 2, but I guess that is all up to preference and story for the amount of blood!

I feel like the velocity range is too great. The high speed spray is fighting against the speed of the slash. And the slow spray feels too weightless. But the color and form is beautiful.

Hi Russel really god job btw I really like it!

By clamping it I was wondering if you were losing some specular highlights when the camera is not in close up or the effects look the same?

Maybe you have clamped it based on the camera distance?

1 Like

Hey Russell,