How Do You Charge Your Clients for Freelance?

Hey guys! I’m starting to get back into freelancing again and I just to hear what your opinions are on pricing. Previously, I charged based on each asset on size and importance of the asset. Now, I was thinking of charging based on asset category: small(Environments, etc), medium(slashes, small explosions, shaders, etc), and large(hero fx, etc). But, I also considered charging by hourly rate and wasn’t sure on the usual wages.

How do you experts go about? I’m not necessarily asking for numbers but how you guys generally state your wages.

1 Like

Seeing as I’m still on my first solo contract I’m far from an expert but the way I calculated my price was by looking at the list of things to do. Made some estimates on how long it would take, told them this is my hourly rate, that means it all comes to this price.

In the estimates I include time for feedback and reworks.

1 Like

I always changed hourly rates. Imo it’s just best for you as an artist. For example when the client comes running to you five times in a row because the effect ‘just need’s a little bit more of …’ or when the client changes their mind out of nothing. Obviously assuming you know what you’re doing and you deliver consistent high quality results.

Hourly makes sense to me - for example when not only do the FX but also the implementation into the game too (when the company gives you access to the game) you never know how long it will take. Sometimes even simple effects need a lot of time to make work with the gamplay and test everything.

1 Like

just a side note, to the freelance question. Also make sure that revisions/changes are clearly defined in the contract. say for example your impact fx took 10 hours, but there’s 20 hours more of revisions over several emails. Just something to make sure the client doesn’t take advantage of you, since there are always improvements :slight_smile: