General questions from a newbie

Hi there, I am kinda new to VFXs, more precisely I have been tinkering with Niagara for some time now, I have been following tutorials and I understand the general workflow but I have a few questions that need answering.

1. So far I have spent my time only focusing on UE5 Niagara. Is it possible to get an apprentice (entry-level) position without knowledge of Unity? I have learned a bit of Unity particle system but let’s say I still don’t feel too confident creating effects in that engine.
  2. Regarding working for a studio or larger company, are effects created strictly by a team, or is each VFX artist assigned effects that they have to complete on their own?
  3. Normally, in terms of workload how many effects is an apprentice expected to make on a month to month basis on average?
  4. What are the common tasks that an apprentice is required to perform?
  5. Finally, is age a big factor in the job application process even if one shows a decent portfolio? I am 34 and my previous work experience in not related to game development.

Thank you very much for your time.

Heyo! Great to have you here :3

1. Different studios work with different engines, so probably it will be much easier for you to get first job in a studio that is in Unreal. Mostly the separation is: Unreal = PC/Console games, Unity = Mobiles/VR games. So whatever interests you more you should probalby learn, but switching engines isn’t hard, so you should be able to try applying to Unity studios too.

2. Depends a lot. There are not many VFX artists in the industry, so in most studios you join you will be most likely the only one (that’s how I started). In bigger studios they can have more VFX artists, but I never experienced that (been in 5 companies). Though I guess it’s always that VFX Artist is assigned to specific effect. Though if you need help with anything, then you can ask for it.