Esno VFX - Sketch and Workbook

Hello, my name is Esbjörn and I’m an aspiring VFX artist from Sweden. This thread is meant as a showcase of some of the work that I’ve done in the hope that I might be able to gain some valuable feedback on what I’ve produced, and maybe, just maybe, be able to inspire someone else.

To begin with let’s start with two effects I made earlier this year when I started to get back into things after taking a decently long break from making effects. I wanted a couple of easier projects just to refamiliarize myself with the Unity and VFX graph interface, so I went on YouTube to find a couple of interesting looking tutorials and this is what I ended up with.

And

(Hopefully these links work)

These effects are based on the YouTube tutorials “Unity VFX Graph - Stylized Orb - Effect Tutorial”, and “Unity Game Effects - Slash Attack Tutorial” by @GabrielAguiar, but with a couple of minor alterations/additions.

Nice to meet all of you.

2 Likes

One of the threads that first got me to this forum was @ShannonBerke’s thread about some of the effects she had worked on for League of Legends. It was really cool to see how some of the effects were done in a game I played a lot. I was especially interested in how they manipulated the UVs of the meshes in order to create interesting results. This post in specific, where she shows how she made Taric’s shield, has been stuck in my head since I first saw it as something I wanted to try and recreate. Which is what I did a couple of months back.

The mesh and UVs are made in Blender and the effect is constructed in Unity’s VFX Graph. It is all one VFX Graph which spawns 4 different types of particles, the crystal mesh, the background “halo”, and two types of “glitter”. The mesh uses a custom shader which allows me to scroll the “sheen” texture based on the lifetime of the particle mesh. The goal was to keep it really similar to the reference so I didn’t add or change much.